Week 8 – Art Experience – Finger Painting

fullsizeoutput_164.jpeg
Ok, so as a child I didn’t really finger paint in class or at home because it has always been a messy ordeal and my teachers, nor my parents, have ever really liked it. That said, this was probably the first time I have ever really sat down to finger-paint. Yes, you guys. I said it. I know, I didn’t really have a childhood, sure me. In my defense, though, I did build forts.

IMG_5927So because I have never really fingerprinted, I decided that I was going to save this project for my little cousin Valerie. Valerie is about 6 years old, and she has definitely fingerprinted before, so she has more experience than I do.

Honestly, it was so much fun to get my hands dirty with pain and feel the different textures that came from everything we touched. We didn’t really add much detail to the painting because Valerie left half way through to go take a nap, and I promised her I wouldn’t do it without her.

Finger painting was harder than I thought. I thought that it was going to be easy because children do it, but I was WRONG. It was so hard to get thin lines or add a lot of small details. I wanted to draw a person, but I didn’t know how I would make the eyes or the nose on the face because my fingers were too big. Whenever I wanted thinner lines I used Valerie’s fingers because her hands are small.

IMG_5929Painting with no direction was frustrating at first because I had no clue what to do. However, once I actually got to it, the process became easier. I started off with white clouds because they seemed really easy to do, and Valerie was making the sun while my sister made the grass. We kinda just fell into making the picture we did. We didn’t talk about it before, and I didn’t tell them what to do. We just laid out paints and did whatever we wanted to do, and in the end, the picture came. At some point, even my older cousin Crystal joined to help make the tree trunk.

IMG_5926The painting in itself isn’t the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. It certainly isn’t a Van Gogh or a Warhol, but I think it’s pretty cute. It was a group effort, and I couldn’t have asked for better. It was a nice way of bonding between all of us because we almost never see each other. I think the picture, in essence, represents childhood. How we are as children and the things we see. I know of sure that while I was painting, I felt carefree and like I was 6 years old again. It’s a feeling I wouldn’t trade for anything now as an adult. It’s innocence, and imagination, but also a bit of mischief because technically we’re not supposed to paint with our fingers. But who’s to say that we can’t do whatever we want?

Leave a Reply

