Pasted Image 0.png

For our first week of ART 110, we all had the pleasure of doing plaster casts of our hands or feet. Let me start of by saying that I am very sorry, and tad bit disappointed, that I didn’t have the opportunity to do the activity with the class. Next time, I will make sure to be there because I really want to interact with all of my fellow classmates. Well thats enough said, I’ll just get into the actual activity itself and my experience.

My really close friend was visiting from Texas and she had never gone to Venice Beach, and had never plaster casted, so we took it as a chance to be tourists and and try something new.

I thought the plaster casting in itself wasn’t going to be extremely difficult so I told myself I didn’t need to watch the video. It was inferred that I would need to dig a whole into the sand, then pack sand around my hand or foot to get a mold of it. That was the easy part. The harder part was getting the plaster mix correct. The box said we needed to mix two parts plaster to powder to one part cold water, but we found that our plaster kept drying way to fast, so we kept pouring water in it. Alas, the consistency was too water and lumpy, we had taking a really long time doing the mix so that most of it had hardened anyways and we had to scrap it to start anew.

The second batch went better. We were more prepared for what we had to do, and so we mixed the plaster right next to the mold so that as soon as I pulled my hand out, we could start pouring in. However, I think I pulled my hand out to fast that the result came out with four large fingers instead of five. My cast doesn’t have a distinct wrist and it looks like I chopped off my arm. I was hoping it would look nicer, but it came out a bit weird. Nonetheless, me and my friend, upon digging it up, had the best laugh of our lives.

We laughed so hard at the ridiculousness of it that a nearby surfer boy came to ask if we were alright, and when we showed him the weird, lumpy plaster hand he couldn’t help but laugh too. As a joke I told him I would give him a hand, he was carrying two surf boards, but he kindly refused it saying he could HANDLE it himself. Oh how all three of us laughed at the situation.

It was honestly, one of the best things that has happened in a long time. I guess its not so much about making something, as it is about the experience it brings you along the way.

Leave a Reply

